AirPods Max 2 vs Beats Studio Pro: Which Fits Your Devices and Travel Setup?
Choose AirPods Max 2 for its conditional Live Translation and Apple feature fit. Choose Beats Studio Pro for its explicitly documented Android features, included 3.5 mm cable for analog sources, or lower published headset weight. Apple lists a compatible USB-C-to-3.5-mm audio cable separately for Max 2; no sound, noise-cancellation, comfort, or durability winner is established.
Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-01
Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Products compared

Product A · ASIN B0GSS4SGZR
Apple AirPods Max 2 (Midnight)
Last observed offer
$499.00 List Price: $549.00
Per listed package.
Offer eligibility must be confirmed on Amazon.
Checked 2026-10-19 19:43 UTC. Price and availability may change.

Product B · ASIN B0C8PR4W22
Beats Studio Pro (Black)
Last observed offer
$249.95 List Price: $299.99
Per listed package.
Offer eligibility must be confirmed on Amazon.
Checked 2026-10-19 19:07 UTC. Price and availability may change.
Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.
The buying question
Does AirPods Max 2’s Apple-specific feature fit justify its higher offer, or do Beats Studio Pro’s documented Android features, included 3.5 mm cable, and lower published headset weight better fit how you listen?
AirPods Max 2 offers a documented Apple Intelligence translation feature but needs the stated compatible iPhone and software. Beats documents Apple and Android functions and includes a 3.5 mm cable; for AirPods Max 2, Apple lists a compatible USB-C-to-3.5-mm cable separately. Beats also has the lower published headset weight. Neither is established as the better-sounding or better-noise-cancelling headset here.
Quick verdict
Choose Apple AirPods Max 2 (Midnight) if
- You will use Live Translation and have an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone running iOS 26.4 or later in a supported region and language.
- You want the Apple device feature set and accept that AirPods Max 2 offers limited functionality as a Bluetooth headphone with non-Apple devices.
Choose Beats Studio Pro (Black) if
- You use Android and want the documented Google Fast Pair, Audio Switch, Find My Device, and Beats app functions.
- You use an airplane or other 3.5 mm audio source and prefer the cable included with Beats Studio Pro; Apple lists a compatible USB-C-to-3.5-mm audio cable separately for AirPods Max 2.
- Lower headset-only weight matters: Beats publishes 260 g versus 386.2 g for AirPods Max 2 including its cushions.
When the recommendation changes
- If you do not have a compatible Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone or do not need Live Translation, that feature does not justify choosing AirPods Max 2 on its own.
- If your wired source is USB-C rather than a 3.5 mm jack, both models document USB-C audio. For a 3.5 mm source, Beats includes the cable, while Apple lists a compatible AirPods Max 2 cable separately; the reviewed sources do not state Max 2's analog-playback battery requirement.
- If total packed size, case protection, sound quality, noise cancellation, comfort, or longevity drives the purchase, current sources do not establish a two-sided winner on that question.
The differences that matter
Platform And Feature Requirements
Apple AirPods Max 2 (Midnight)
AirPods Max 2 is usable as a Bluetooth headphone with non-Apple devices, but Apple says functionality may be limited. Live Translation requires latest firmware and an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone running iOS 26.4 or later; availability is limited by region and language.[2, 1]
Beats Studio Pro (Black)
Beats Studio Pro expressly supports Apple and Android workflows; its Android feature list includes Google Fast Pair, Audio Switch, Find My Device, and Beats app support.[5]
What this changes: Match the headset to the phone and the feature required. Max 2 documents conditional Live Translation; Beats lists Android setup features. The sources do not establish feature parity or prove unlisted features are absent.[2, 1, 5]
Wired Audio And Power Modes
Apple AirPods Max 2 (Midnight)
AirPods Max 2 supports lossless audio over USB-C. Apple documents 3.5-mm analog connection through its USB-C-to-3.5-mm audio cable; the Max 2 box lists a USB-C charge cable, while Apple lists the compatible analog cable separately. USB-C-to-USB-C audio works with compatible iPhone, iPad, or Mac with Bluetooth enabled for full functionality. The reviewed sources do not state Max 2's analog-playback battery requirement.[2, 3, 1, 4]
What this changes: For a 3.5-mm source, Beats includes the analog cable; Max 2 uses Apple's compatible cable, listed separately from its in-box USB-C charge cable. Choose based on the cable you want included or are willing to obtain. The sources do not establish Max 2's analog-playback battery requirement, so that unknown does not rank either model. Both document USB-C audio.[3, 1, 4, 5, 6, 7]
Travel Storage And Controls
Apple AirPods Max 2 (Midnight)
AirPods Max 2 weighs 386.2 g including cushions; the Smart Case weighs 134.5 g. Apple says storing the headset in the Smart Case preserves battery charge in an ultra-low-power state, and lists it in the box.[2, 1]
Beats Studio Pro (Black)
Beats publishes 260 g for the Studio Pro headset and says its foldable headphones pack in an included carrying case. The case's weight is not specified on the page reviewed.[5]
What this changes: The Beats headset is 126.2 g lighter by the two manufacturers' published headset weights. This helps buyers prioritizing headset-only mass, but cannot establish total packed weight, case protection, or packed volume.[2, 1, 5]
Best for your routine
Use AirPods Max 2 Live Translation with a compatible Apple Intelligence iPhone and supported software, region, and language.
Best fit: Apple AirPods Max 2 (Midnight)
Based on listed features, not comparative testing.
Apple documents the Max 2 translation feature with those prerequisites; this is a feature match, not a general superiority finding.
Use an Android phone with the published quick pairing, audio switching, device finding, and Beats app functions.
Best fit: Beats Studio Pro (Black)
Based on listed features, not comparative testing.
Beats explicitly lists the Android features. AirPods Max 2 may still connect over Bluetooth to a non-Apple device, with functionality limited per Apple.
Connect to a 3.5 mm source and prefer the cable included in the box
Best fit: Beats Studio Pro (Black)
Based on listed features, not comparative testing.
Beats Studio Pro includes a 3.5 mm cable. Apple lists a compatible USB-C-to-3.5-mm cable separately for AirPods Max 2, whose box lists a USB-C charge cable. Choose Beats if an included 3.5 mm cable is the deciding package preference; this does not compare battery-depleted analog playback, which is not stated for Max 2.
Prioritize lower published headphone-only weight when packing or wearing the headset.
Best fit: Beats Studio Pro (Black)
Based on listed features, not comparative testing.
Beats publishes a lower headphone weight. Case weights are not comparable from the sources checked.
Value and trade-offs
One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.
If the live offer still makes AirPods Max 2 the higher-priced choice, consider the premium only if its Apple-specific features you will use, such as qualifying Live Translation, justify it for you. Beats' documented Android features, included 3.5-mm cable, and lower headset-only weight may better fit other buyers. Apple lists a compatible Max 2 USB-C-to-3.5-mm cable separately; live offers can change.
The available price information is not enough to say whether to buy now or wait.
Limitations
- This is a feature and published-specification comparison, not a hands-on or controlled listening test. It does not establish which model sounds better, cancels more noise, or feels more comfortable.
- Apple does not state the AirPods Max 2 battery requirement for analog playback in the support material reviewed.
- The source pages do not establish a total packed-weight, case-volume, or case-protection comparison; Beats carrying-case weight is not published here.
- No long-term reliability evidence was reviewed, so no lifespan or durability winner is claimed.
- Price information is current-only and can change; there is not enough history for a buy-timing recommendation.
Questions shoppers ask
Will AirPods Max 2 work with an Android phone?
Apple says AirPods can be used as Bluetooth headphones with non-Apple devices, but functionality may be limited. Beats specifically lists Android setup features for Studio Pro. If you rely on a particular Max 2 feature, check its device requirements before buying.
Which package includes a 3.5 mm cable?
Beats Studio Pro includes a 3.5 mm cable. The AirPods Max 2 box lists a USB-C charge cable; Apple lists a compatible USB-C-to-3.5-mm audio cable separately. Apple does not state the Max 2 battery requirement for analog playback in the support material reviewed, so this comparison cannot answer what happens when its battery is depleted.
Is AirPods Max 2 worth paying more for?
It depends on whether you will use a Max 2 feature that fits your devices, such as Live Translation with the required Apple Intelligence iPhone, software, language, and region. If Android setup features, an included 3.5 mm cable, or lower headset weight matter more, Beats has the clearer fit. For Max 2 analog input, Apple lists a compatible cable separately. Check the current offers; this comparison does not identify a best time to buy.
Methodology and sources
Compared the exact U.S. AirPods Max 2 Midnight and Beats Studio Pro Black against their official platform, cable/package, supported connection, weight, and power information. No listening, noise-cancellation, comfort, or durability testing was performed.
AI tools helped find and organize public manufacturer information; the cited details are linked to official product and support pages.
View 7 sources
- 1.Buy AirPods Max 2 - MidnightApple · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- AirPods Max 2, Midnight; Live Translation FAQ; Product Information and What's in the Box: Official U.S. buy page for the current AirPods Max 2 Midnight option; lists Smart Case and USB-C charge cable in the box and states Live Translation requirements and language/region availability.
- 2.AirPods Max 2 - Technical SpecificationsApple · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Audio Technology; System Requirements; Size and Weight; Battery; Connectivity: Current official Max 2 specification page: USB-C lossless audio and features, supported system qualifications, non-Apple Bluetooth limited-functionality note, 386.2 g headphone weight including cushions, 134.5 g Smart Case, Smart Case power state, and battery specification.
- 3.Pair AirPods with an Apple deviceApple Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Connect AirPods Max with an audio cable; USB-C connection instructions: Official AirPods User Guide explicitly identifies AirPods Max 2 with Apple's USB-C-to-3.5-mm audio cable and USB-C-to-USB-C connection to compatible Apple devices; Bluetooth must be on for full USB-C functionality.
- 4.AirPods Max 2 - Made by Apple - All AccessoriesApple · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Accessories listing: USB-C to 3.5 mm Audio Cable (1.2 m): Apple lists its USB-C-to-3.5-mm audio cable among accessories under AirPods Max 2; this result is used only to identify a separate compatible accessory, not to state its price.
- 5.Beats Studio Pro - Premium Wireless Noise Cancelling HeadphonesBeats · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Product compatibility and design specs; connectivity; power; in the box; travel FAQ: Official U.S. Studio Pro product page covering Apple and Android features, Android feature list, 260 g weight, USB-C audio and 3.5-mm input, foldable design, included carrying case and cables.
- 6.Studio Pro Headphones SupportBeats Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- FAQ: USB-C audio and EQ-optimized sound modes: Official Studio Pro support confirms USB-C connection as standard USB audio, with audio/calls while simultaneously charging, and selection among three sound profiles during USB-C use.
- 7.Use your Beats Studio ProApple Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-30 22:57 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Pair with Apple or Android; Listen to lossless audio; Change sound profiles: Official model-specific Beats user guide explains Apple/Android pairing, the included USB-C cable, included 3.5-mm cable, and USB-audio sound profiles.