Skip to content

Aroma ARC-914SBD vs Zojirushi NS-TSC10: Which Fits Your Rice Routine?

Choose by batch size and controls, not by the rankings in generic comparison pages. Aroma’s manual documents up to four supplied rice cups (about eight cooked cups) and a Flash Rice mode; Zojirushi documents up to 5.5 supplied 180 mL cups, more menu choices, extended keep-warm, and reheating. One independent author tested both exact models and reported a shorter jasmine cycle for Aroma, while a separate Aroma test found problems with brown rice and overflow; test conditions are not complete enough to declare an overall rice-quality winner.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-09-27

Source checked 2026-09-26 08:51 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

Do you want the simpler cooker with a white-rice speed mode, or more uncooked-rice capacity and a broader set of rice programs and warming options?

The Aroma offers a 4-rice-cup uncooked limit and Flash Rice mode; the Zojirushi accepts up to 5.5 of its supplied rice cups and lists more rice types plus extended keep-warm and reheating. Independent test findings do not establish a universal texture winner for these exact models.

Quick verdict

Choose Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer if

  • You want capacity above four rice cups, using the model’s own 180 mL cup measure.
  • You value its listed white/sushi, mixed, porridge, sweet, brown, cake, steam, and quick-cooking settings plus extended keep-warm and reheating.
When to skip: You need independently established durability or a guaranteed texture result; this research did not establish either for the exact pair. Your required batch exceeds the cooker you select or the current exact-ASIN offer cannot be verified at checkout.
When the recommendation changes
  • If consistent brown-rice texture is the deciding factor, published exact-model test evidence raises a concern about the Aroma but does not include an equivalent same-protocol test of this exact Zojirushi ASIN; seek a comparable current test before paying a premium for a texture promise.
  • If the current Amazon offers change or the exact ASIN is unavailable, reassess price and availability at the time of purchase.

The differences that matter

Uncooked Batch Capacity

Aroma ARC-914SBD Digital Rice & Grain Multicooker

The manual caps the ARC-914SBD at 4 cups of uncooked white rice, yielding up to 8 cups cooked; its included cup is 3/4 of a US cup.[1, 2]

Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer

The NS-TSC10 is rated up to 5.5 cups / 1.0 L, measured with its approx. 180 mL rice cup and raw short-grain white rice.[3]

What this changes: Both brands use a rice cup near 180 mL, so compare the raw-rice limits (4 vs 5.5 rice cups) rather than treating Aroma’s 8 cooked-cup yield as the same kind of number. Zojirushi supports the larger documented batch.[1, 2, 3]

Best fit: Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & WarmerView Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer on AmazonPaid link

Rice Programs And Controls

Aroma ARC-914SBD Digital Rice & Grain Multicooker

The manual documents White Rice, Brown Rice, Steam, and Flash Rice; its delay timer can be set for 1–15 hours for white rice and 2–15 hours for brown rice.[1]

Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer

The manufacturer lists white/sushi, mixed, porridge, sweet, brown, cake, steam, and quick-cooking menus, microcomputer fuzzy logic, and two delay-timer settings.[3]

What this changes: Aroma offers a dedicated Flash Rice option and a shorter list of named presets; Zojirushi lists more rice-type and specialty programs. These are feature differences, not proof that one cooker produces better rice.[1, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Keep Warm And Reheat

Aroma ARC-914SBD Digital Rice & Grain Multicooker

The Aroma manual says the cooker automatically switches to Keep Warm after a completed cycle and cautions not to leave food on that mode for more than 12 hours.[1]

Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer

The Zojirushi product page lists automatic keep warm, extended keep warm, and a reheating cycle.[3]

What this changes: The Zojirushi’s published workflow explicitly includes extended warming and reheating. The Aroma manual documents automatic warming; it does not establish an equivalent extended mode or reheating cycle.[1, 3]

Best fit: Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & WarmerView Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer on AmazonPaid link

Observed Rice Results And Cycle Time

Aroma ARC-914SBD Digital Rice & Grain Multicooker

Forbes Vetted reports about 40 minutes for a jasmine cycle in the ARC-914SBD. Bon Appétit reports the exact model did well on its white-rice test but had poor/mushy brown rice and starchy water leakage during testing.[4, 5]

Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer

Forbes Vetted reports nearly an hour for a jasmine cycle in the NS-TSC10 and describes favorable results across the rice types it tested. The article says it tested 7 cookers over 15 days and used the same rice brand, but its accessible method does not state matched batch sizes/settings for this pair.[4]

What this changes: The exact-model tests give useful caveats and a rough jasmine-time observation, but the reported time comparison lacks enough pair-specific protocol detail and the brown-rice findings are not a controlled A/B result. They do not establish an overall measured winner.[4, 5]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

Best for your routine

A household whose usual uncooked batch fits four rice cups and wants a Flash Rice route

Best fit: Aroma ARC-914SBD Digital Rice & Grain Multicooker

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Aroma’s manual documents a four-cup raw-rice maximum and a white-rice Flash Rice mode; this is a fit to the stated workflow, not a texture or speed guarantee.

A household that wants more than four rice cups per batch or extended keep-warm and reheating options

Best fit: Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Zojirushi documents a 5.5-cup raw capacity in its own 180 mL rice cup and lists extended keep-warm and reheating.

What the evidence cannot decide

  • A shopper choosing solely for best rice texture or long-term reliability: The independent evidence is exact-model relevant but does not provide a complete matched comparison of these exact units across equivalent recipes and conditions, and it does not establish long-term reliability.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

The higher-priced current catalog option needs to justify itself through the larger raw-rice batch limit, wider documented menu, and extended keep-warm/reheating functions for buyers who will use them. Recheck exact offers at checkout.

Insufficient price history for any timing recommendation. Current offers are dynamic; recheck the exact ASIN, seller, delivery region, and offer at checkout.

Limitations

  • Pickoryx did not test either cooker. Independent exact-model testing exists, but the accessible reporting does not establish matched rice quantities and settings for a full head-to-head performance verdict.
  • Aroma’s manual reports cooked-cup yield while Zojirushi reports raw-rice cup capacity; the comparison normalizes these to supplied 180 mL rice cups and raw input limits. Cooked yield varies by grain.
  • Current Pickoryx cache marks the Aroma ASIN scarce/in stock and the Zojirushi ASIN in stock. The Aroma Amazon product page surfaced a different Amazon-sold offer in a “frequently bought together” panel; the Zojirushi US manufacturer store page showed its shared NS-TSC10/18 listing out of stock when checked. These are different offer channels and conditions, so the current availability and price gap need exact-ASIN verification at checkout.
  • The opened exact-model comparison page from RiceCookers101 mainly aggregates listing facts, ratings/review counts, and Amazon links; it provides no test protocol or measured results. The other proposed comparison URL returned a web-cache miss when opened, so it was not used as evidence.

Questions shoppers ask

Are Aroma’s “8 cups cooked” and Zojirushi’s “5.5 cups” the same capacity measure?

No. Aroma’s manual labels 4 rice cups uncooked as yielding up to 8 cups cooked, and its included cup is 3/4 of a US cup. Zojirushi’s 5.5-cup rating is raw short-grain rice measured with an approximately 180 mL supplied rice cup. Compare the raw rice-cup limits, not the two headline numbers.

Does the Zojirushi make better rice?

This research does not support a universal answer. Forbes Vetted tested both exact models and reported different jasmine cook-cycle times, while Bon Appétit found problems with the Aroma’s brown-rice test. The accessible test reports do not provide enough matched pair-specific conditions to treat those observations as a definitive A/B result.

Methodology and sources

Compared official capacity using supplied rice-cup volume/raw-rice basis; checked menus and warm/reheat cycles in official documentation; used independent observations only with model and method limits stated. Dynamic offer observations were excluded from stable price prose.

Automation assisted source discovery and record organization only; a researcher opened and assessed the cited pages. No Pickoryx product testing was performed.

View 5 sources
  1. 1.ARC-914SBD Rice & Grain Multicooker Instruction ManualAroma Housewares · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-27 14:16 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • PDF pp. 1–2 and 4–5 (printed pp. 3, 5, 9–10): warm-mode safety note, controls/programs, automatic Keep Warm, delay settings and capacity/rice-cup table: Exact ARC-914SBD instruction manual linked from Aroma’s exact-model Parts & Manual page: maximum 4 cups uncooked rice yields up to 8 cooked cups; supplied rice cup is 3/4 US cup; White/Brown/Steam/Flash Rice functions, model-specific delay ranges, automatic Keep Warm, and 12-hour warm limit are documented.
  2. 2.Rice Cooker Size and Capacity: How to Pick the Perfect SizeAroma Housewares · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-26 08:51 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • “Measure and Compare Rice Cookers” and “How to Measure with a Rice Cup”: Aroma explains its cooked-cup labeling and defines its supplied rice cup as 180 mL / about 3/4 of a US measuring cup. General brand guidance used only to interpret ARC-914SBD manual capacity.
  3. 3.Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer NS-TSC10/18Zojirushi Online Store · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-26 08:51 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product features and specifications: model number, capacity measure, cooking menus, keep-warm/reheat: Official US product page identifies NS-TSC10, 5.5 cups/1.0 L in its approx. 180 mL cup using raw short-grain rice, 120V/610W, listed menus, automatic/extended warming and reheating. The page showed the NS-TSC10/18 offer out of stock at retrieval.
  4. 4.Zojirushi Micom Rice Cooker Review: The Best Model On The MarketForbes Vetted · Independent testing · Source checked 2026-09-26 08:51 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • “How Does the Zojirushi Micom Rice Cooker Compare” and “How I Tested”: exact model labels; jasmine timing; seven cookers/four varieties/15 days: The reviewer identifies and tests both ARC-914SBD and NS-TSC10; reports approx. 40 minutes for Aroma jasmine vs nearly an hour for Zojirushi jasmine. The accessible article says 28 pots across seven cookers and same rice brand, but does not disclose matched A/B quantity/settings for this specific timing comparison. Performance evidence is therefore bounded and not an overall winner test.
  5. 5.I’ve Tested 41 Rice Cookers and Swear By These 4 For Effortless, Fluffy RiceBon Appétit · Independent testing · Source checked 2026-09-26 08:51 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • “Rice cookers we don’t recommend”: ARC-914SBD exact model and test observations: A 2026 test of 41 rice cookers identifies ARC-914SBD specifically; says it did well on white rice but failed its brown-rice test, with wet/mushy rice and starchy water leakage. This is Aroma-only evidence, not a Zojirushi comparison.