ASUS TUF X870-PLUS vs ROG Strix X870E-E: Which Build Needs the Extra M.2 and Rear I/O?
Choose by the exact Ryzen CPU and devices in the build. The ROG lists one more M.2 position, two more SATA ports, more rear USB options and 5Gb Ethernet; the TUF lists four M.2 positions, two SATA ports, ten rear USB ports and 2.5Gb Ethernet. Both have CPU-dependent storage and GPU-slot sharing, so check the slot map before finalizing drives and graphics cards.
Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-09
Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Products compared

Product A · ASIN B0DGB8Q19Y
ASUS TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI
Last observed offer
$204.99 List Price: $249.99
Per listed package.
Offer eligibility must be confirmed on Amazon.
Checked 2026-10-19 16:22 UTC. Price and availability may change.

Product B · ASIN B0DDZNZF76
ASUS ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI
Last observed offer
$399.99 List Price: $449.99
Per listed package.
Offer eligibility must be confirmed on Amazon.
Checked 2026-10-19 09:45 UTC. Price and availability may change.
Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.
The buying question
Does the ROG's extra storage and rear-I/O capacity fit this build after Ryzen-family M.2 support and GPU-slot sharing are considered?
The ROG lists more storage connectors and a broader rear-I/O layout, while both boards route storage and expansion differently by Ryzen family; extra connectors matter only when the planned CPU and devices can use them.
Quick verdict
Choose ASUS TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI if
- Four M.2 positions and two SATA ports cover your drive plan, and the TUF rear USB layout and 2.5Gb Ethernet fit your devices and network.
Choose ASUS ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI if
- With a Ryzen 7000 or 9000 CPU, you will use the fifth M.2 position or third/fourth SATA port, or you specifically need the ROG rear USB 20Gbps Type-C port or 5Gb Ethernet with matching equipment.
When the recommendation changes
- The exact CPU is Ryzen 8000: the boards' CPU-attached secondary M.2 positions listed here are unsupported and PCIe x16 mode varies by exact SKU.
- The drive placement, GPU/add-in-card layout, exact CPU SKU, BIOS support, or received board revision changes the applicable slot map.
- The device list or wired path does not support the ROG's additional port types or 5Gb Ethernet.
The differences that matter
Storage And Expansion Topology
ASUS TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI
Four M.2 and two SATA ports. Ryzen 9000/7000: M.2_1/_2 are CPU-attached PCIe 5.0 x4; M.2_3/_4 are chipset PCIe 4.0 x4. Ryzen 8000: M.2_1 is PCIe 4.0 x4 and M.2_2 is unsupported. M.2_2 shares bandwidth with PCIEX16(G5), which runs x8 when M.2_2 runs; M.2_4 disables PCIEX16(G4). The CPU x16 slot is PCIe 5.0 x16 for Ryzen 9000/7000 and PCIe 4.0 x16 x8/x4 mode depending on Ryzen 8000 CPU.[1, 2]
ASUS ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI
Five M.2 and four SATA ports. Ryzen 9000/7000: M.2_1/_2/_3 are CPU-attached PCIe 5.0 x4; M.2_4/_5 are chipset PCIe 4.0 x4. Ryzen 8000: M.2_1 is PCIe 4.0 x4 and M.2_2/_3 are unsupported. M.2_2/_3 share bandwidth with PCIEX16(G5): the current US specification page says either position enabled alone makes it x8. Manual E25504 says the slot runs x8 when both positions contain SSDs, but does not state the one-drive case. The CPU x16 slot is PCIe 5.0 x16 for Ryzen 9000/7000 and PCIe 4.0 x16 x8/x4 mode depending on Ryzen 8000 CPU.[3, 4]
What this changes: For Ryzen 7000/9000, the ROG's extra M.2/SATA capacity matters only if the drive plan needs it and the shared GPU-slot lane configuration is acceptable. With Ryzen 8000, both boards' listed CPU-attached secondary M.2 positions are unsupported. Check the exact CPU SKU, BIOS support, motherboard revision and installed-card layout; neither connector count nor link width establishes real-world speed.[1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6]
Rear Io Network And Peripheral Fit
ASUS TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI
Ten rear USB ports: two USB4 Type-C 40Gbps, three USB 10Gbps Type-A, four USB 5Gbps Type-A and one USB 2.0 Type-A; Realtek 2.5Gb Ethernet. Front USB 20Gbps Type-C header supports up to 30W PD. Wi-Fi 7 is 2x2 and lists 2.4/5/6GHz bands.[1]
What this changes: The ROG's rear Type-C/USB mix and higher-rated Ethernet port matter only with devices and a network path that match. Both Wi-Fi listings condition full Wi-Fi 7 features on the operating system and note country-level 6GHz rules. Published interface ratings are not measured device throughput.[1, 3, 4]
Best for your routine
A Ryzen 7000/9000 build that needs the fifth M.2 position or third/fourth SATA connection after accounting for top-slot sharing.
Best fit: ASUS ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI
Based on listed features, not comparative testing.
ROG documentation lists five M.2 and four SATA positions versus four and two on TUF; this is connector-fit guidance, not a storage-speed or GPU-performance claim.
A build needing the ROG's rear USB 20Gbps Type-C/30W PD connection or a 5GbE port with matching network equipment.
Best fit: ASUS ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI
Based on listed features, not comparative testing.
These ports appear in the ROG rear-I/O list; value depends on matching peripherals, cables and network path, and no throughput was measured.
Value and trade-offs
One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.
If current offer prices differ, evaluate the ROG's extra M.2/SATA positions, rear USB options and 5Gb Ethernet against this build's CPU, GPU-slot, storage, peripheral and network needs. No price gap or premium is verified in this comparison.
Price-history evidence is unavailable in this research, so the page does not provide a purchase-timing conclusion.
Limitations
- No exact Ryzen CPU SKU or received motherboard revision was specified. Check each exact CPU against ASUS's model-specific CPU support list and minimum BIOS against the particular board's shipped BIOS; no universal minimum is asserted here.
- The current ROG US specification page says enabling either M.2_2 or M.2_3 alone runs PCIEX16(G5) at x8. Manual E25504 states x8 when both contain SSDs but does not specify the one-drive case. Check the documentation for the received board revision if this changes the build decision.
- Ryzen 8000 CPU models differ in PCIe x16 mode; the exact CPU SKU and ASUS bifurcation/support table are needed for a final GPU/add-in-card plan.
- Wi-Fi 7 availability depends on operating system and local 6GHz rules. USB/Ethernet/Wi-Fi ratings were not tested as real transfer speed, range or latency.
- This comparison uses manufacturer documentation only; it includes no controlled performance or long-term reliability comparison. Current offers were not checked.
Questions shoppers ask
Can I use every listed M.2 position with a Ryzen 8000 processor?
No. ASUS lists the TUF M.2_2 and ROG M.2_2/_3 positions as unsupported with Ryzen 8000. The other listed M.2 positions remain available by the manuals' maps, but exact CPU SKU affects PCIe slot mode; check CPU support and BIOS requirements before ordering.
Does the ROG's extra M.2 capacity leave the graphics slot at x16?
ASUS's current US specification page says enabling either ROG M.2_2 or M.2_3 alone runs PCIEX16(G5) at x8. Manual E25504 also documents x8 when both positions contain SSDs, but does not state the one-drive case. Check the current specifications for the received board revision if that link mode matters.
Does 5Gb Ethernet or a 40Gbps USB label guarantee that speed in use?
No real-world transfer rate was tested here. A connected device, cable and the rest of the network or USB path must also support the relevant interface; choose by the ports you need, not an assumed speed result.
Methodology and sources
Mapped CPU-generation-specific M.2/PCIe tables, SATA counts, rear USB configuration, wired Ethernet and Wi-Fi conditions from exact US manufacturer materials. The ROG US specification page states that either secondary M.2 position enabled alone runs PCIEX16(G5) at x8; manual E25504 documents x8 with both positions populated but does not address the single-drive case.
AI-assisted research organized published ASUS documentation into a build-planning comparison. Pickoryx did not conduct hands-on tests.
View 6 sources
- 1.TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI - Tech SpecsASUS USA · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- CPU, Expansion Slots, Storage, Ethernet, Wireless & Bluetooth, USB: Exact US page lists CPU-family PCIe/M.2 configuration and sharing, SATA, Ethernet, Wi-Fi OS/region notes and rear/front I/O.
- 2.TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI specifications summary / User's ManualASUS · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- E25811 pages 7-8, expansion slots and storage: Exact model manual confirms Ryzen-family lanes, M.2/SATA map, M.2_2/G5 sharing, M.2_4/G4 disable and Ryzen 8000 M.2_2 restriction.
- 3.ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI - Tech SpecsROG USA · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Expansion Slots, Storage, Ethernet, Wireless & Bluetooth, USB: Exact US page lists CPU-family slots, five M.2/four SATA, sharing (states either M.2_2 or _3 enabled alone causes x8), Ethernet, Wi-Fi and rear I/O.
- 4.ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI specifications summary / User's ManualASUS · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- E25504 pages 7-9, expansion slots, storage and I/O: Exact model manual lists five M.2/four SATA, Ryzen 8000 M.2_2/_3 unsupported, shared G5 lanes and x8 when both contain SSDs; confirms Ethernet and USB.
- 5.TUF GAMING X870-PLUS WIFI - SupportASUS USA · Official support · Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Exact-model CPU / Memory Support section: Support portal opened; projected page did not expose a CPU-specific minimum BIOS. No minimum version is asserted; check exact CPU and board revision.
- 6.ROG STRIX X870E-E GAMING WIFI - SupportASUS USA · Official support · Source checked 2026-10-09 20:51 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Exact-model CPU Support section: Support CPU page opened and exact-model CPU options were visible; no minimum BIOS applicable to an unspecified CPU/revision is asserted.