Skip to content

Which Brother label maker fits your tape stock and repeat-label routine?

Start with the tape family: Brother documents PTD220 for TZe up to 12 mm and PT-N20 for Btag 12 mm only. For repeat printing, PTD220 documents up to 30 saved labels, while PT-N20 documents 10; do not treat equal width as compatibility.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-09-29

Source checked 2026-09-29 14:10 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

Should you choose PTD220 or PT-N20 based on the Brother tape family you use and how many labels you want to save for repeat printing?

PTD220 is documented for TZe tape and up to 30 saved labels with 25 preset templates; PT-N20 is documented for Btag tape only and 10 saved labels. The shared 12 mm width does not establish tape interchangeability.

Quick verdict

When the recommendation changes
  • If your choice depends on PT-N20 preset templates, confirm that function from current official documentation; the cited PT-N20 page does not establish its availability.
  • If neither documented tape family matches your stock, these sources do not establish that either model can use it.

The differences that matter

Existing Tape Family Compatibility

Brother P-touch PTD220 Home/Office Everyday Desktop Label Maker

Brother lists the PTD220 for TZe laminated tapes up to 12 mm.[1]

Brother P-touch PT-N20 Personal Desktop Label Maker

Brother lists PT-N20 for Btag 12 mm tape exclusively; its US tape guide includes PT-N20 in the Btag-only group.[2, 3]

What this changes: Choose by the tape family you already own or plan to buy, not by width alone. Both references include a 12 mm size, but they document different tape families; they do not establish that the families interchange.[1, 2, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Saved Label Capacity And Template Workflow

Brother P-touch PTD220 Home/Office Everyday Desktop Label Maker

PTD220 specifies up to 30 saved labels and 25 preset templates.[1]

Brother P-touch PT-N20 Personal Desktop Label Maker

PT-N20 specifies 10 saved labels and a 16-character preview display.[2]

What this changes: If you need more than 10 recurring labels available, PTD220 documents capacity up to 30. If 10 saved labels are enough, PT-N20 documents that capacity. PTD220 lists 25 preset templates; Brother’s published PT-N20 information does not specify preset-template availability, so do not assume it is absent or use it as an exclusive comparison.[1, 2]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

Use the current product cards for any price difference. This comparison does not estimate lifetime tape costs or declare either model a better value.

There is insufficient price history for a Buy Now or Wait recommendation.

Limitations

  • The documented 12 mm widths do not establish that TZe and Btag tapes are interchangeable.
  • The cited PT-N20 page does not establish preset-template availability; this comparison does not infer that templates are absent.
  • The exact-model pages do not establish measured print quality, speed, tape durability, or total cost per label.

Questions shoppers ask

Does the PT-N20 have preset templates?

Brother’s published PT-N20 information reviewed for this comparison specifies 10 saved labels and a 16-character preview display, but does not specify preset-template availability. If a particular preset matters to you, check the latest PT-N20 documentation; this comparison does not assume templates are absent.

Methodology and sources

The comparison uses Brother U.S. exact-model product pages and its tape guide to check the documented tape family, saved-label capacity and stated template information. It does not use retailer feature tables as product-fact evidence.

AI assistance summarized the published tape and repeat-label details for these models. Neither device was hands-on tested.

View 3 sources
  1. 1.Brother P-touch PTD220 Home/Office Everyday Desktop Label MakerBrother U.S. · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-29 13:51 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • PTD220 product features and In the Box sections: The exact PTD220 product information lists TZe laminated tapes up to 12 mm, up to 30 saved labels and 25 preset templates.
  2. 2.Brother P-touch PT-N20 Personal Desktop Label MakerBrother U.S. · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-29 13:51 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • PT-N20 product features and official product-comparison/package text: Brother’s exact PT-N20 product page specifies Btag 12 mm exclusive tape use, 10 saved labels and a 16-character preview display.
  3. 3.Brother U.S. Label Tape GuideBrother U.S. · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-29 13:50 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Btag-only compatible product list and separate TZe family listing: Brother lists PT-N20 among products for exclusive Btag tape use and presents TZe as a separate tape family. This does not establish PTD220 compatibility beyond its own exact-model page.