Skip to content

Etekcity Luminary EKS-L221-SUS vs OXO 11214800: Which Kitchen Scale Fits Your Routine?

The Etekcity Luminary EKS-L221-SUS is rated to 22 lb and recharges over USB-C, but its manual says it cannot be used while charging. OXO's stainless scale is rated to 11 lb and lets you pull its display out to reduce bowl and plate shadowing. Match the rated limit to the vessel-plus-ingredients load, then choose the power and readout routine you prefer; these published specifications do not establish measurement accuracy.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-02

Source checked 2026-10-02 22:06 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

Do you need a 22 lb rated maximum and rechargeable USB-C power, or is an 11 lb maximum enough and a pull-out display more useful around bowls?

The Etekcity's published maximum is 22 lb, while OXO specifies an 11 lb scale with a display that pulls out to avoid bowl or plate shadowing. Etekcity documents USB-C recharging and says not to use it while charging; OXO's cited page does not state its power source.

Quick verdict

Choose Etekcity Luminary EKS-L221-SUS Kitchen Scale if

  • You may weigh loads above 11 lb but no more than the Etekcity's stated 22 lb maximum, or you want its documented USB-C recharge path.
  • A slanted, backlit display and a Hold control for up to three minutes suit your work area.
  • You can charge between weighing sessions because the manual says the scale cannot be used while charging.
When to skip: Your vessel and ingredients together may exceed 22 lb; neither scale is rated for that load.
When the recommendation changes
  • If your vessel plus ingredients may exceed 22 lb, neither model's stated capacity is enough for that load; look for a scale rated above your full physical load. If you rarely approach 11 lb, capacity becomes less important and the display or power workflow can drive the choice.

The differences that matter

Capacity And Load

Etekcity Luminary EKS-L221-SUS Kitchen Scale

The EKS-L221-SUS is rated for up to 22 lb (10 kg); its US manual warns not to exceed that limit. It also has a zero/tare function for weighing food in a container.[1, 2]

OXO Good Grips 11 lb Stainless Steel Food Scale with Pull-Out Display (11214800)

OXO names this stainless steel scale for an 11 lb maximum and describes a zero function.[3]

What this changes: The Luminary's stated maximum is twice the OXO scale's 11 lb rating, which matters if your intended load may approach or exceed 11 lb. Include the vessel when considering the physical load on the platform: zeroing changes the displayed reading, not the scale's stated maximum. If your routine loads stay well below 11 lb, capacity alone may not justify choosing by the larger rating.[2, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Power And Readout Workflow

Etekcity Luminary EKS-L221-SUS Kitchen Scale

The Luminary has a rechargeable 300 mAh Li-ion battery charged over USB Type-C. Its manual says the scale cannot be used while charging. Etekcity describes a slanted, backlit LED display and a Hold function that locks a reading for up to three minutes.[1, 2]

OXO Good Grips 11 lb Stainless Steel Food Scale with Pull-Out Display (11214800)

OXO's display pulls out to reduce shadowing from bowls or plates, then slides back into the scale for storage. Its product page describes a zero button and unit conversion.[3]

What this changes: Choose the Luminary if you prefer a rechargeable USB-C scale and can charge it between uses. Choose the OXO if pulling the display out from behind a bowl or plate is a more useful readout routine. The cited OXO page does not state its power source, so this comparison does not characterize OXO as battery-powered or rechargeable.[1, 2, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

Weighing loads that may exceed 11 lb

Best fit: Etekcity Luminary EKS-L221-SUS Kitchen Scale

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Choose the Etekcity when the physical load is above OXO's stated 11 lb limit but remains at or below Etekcity's 22 lb limit; verify your vessel and contents together stay within the rating.

Reading the display with a bowl or plate on the platform

Best fit: OXO Good Grips 11 lb Stainless Steel Food Scale with Pull-Out Display (11214800)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

OXO documents a pull-out display specifically designed to prevent bowls or plates from shadowing it. Choose it if that positioning solves a recurring visibility issue and the 11 lb limit covers your load.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

No comparison of current checkout offers or historical prices is included. If one offer costs more, weigh that difference against the load rating, power routine and display placement that matter in your kitchen.

No reliable price history is included here, so this article cannot recommend buying now or waiting. Compare the current checkout offers and exact package details.

Limitations

  • Rated maximum load is a published limit, not a recommendation to load either scale to its maximum. Include the vessel's physical weight when checking whether the full load is within the rating; tare changes the displayed value, not the physical load.
  • The listed 0.05 oz/1 g and 0.1 oz/1 g increments describe display resolution, not verified accuracy or repeatability. No controlled measurement comparison was performed.
  • The OXO product page cited here does not specify its power source. Confirm the exact power requirements in the instructions or current package details if that affects your choice.
  • The Etekcity manual warns against use while charging. No durability, battery runtime, water-resistance, or cleaning-performance comparison was conducted.
  • This article does not include price-history evidence or verify current offers, condition, seller, shipping, or package contents.

Questions shoppers ask

Can I use a bowl and still stay within the scale's maximum?

The Etekcity manual says not to exceed 22 lb, and OXO describes its scale as an 11 lb model. A bowl still physically rests on the platform after you zero the display. Check that the combined bowl and ingredients stay within the scale’s stated maximum.

Which display is easier to read with a large bowl?

OXO says its display pulls out to prevent shadowing from bowls or plates and slides back for storage. Etekcity describes a slanted backlit LED display and a Hold function that locks the reading for up to three minutes. Choose based on whether you prefer repositioning the display or the Luminary's built-in slanted screen and Hold control.

Does the Etekcity work while plugged in?

Etekcity's manual says the scale cannot be used while charging. It uses USB Type-C charging, so plan to recharge between weighing sessions. The OXO product details cited in this comparison do not state its power source.

Methodology and sources

Compared the two published maximum-load ratings, then the documented charging and display-positioning routines. Increment sizes are presented as resolution only, not as evidence of accuracy; the OXO page's power source remains unspecified here.

AI helped organize the cited manufacturer information and draft this comparison. Pickoryx did not test either scale.

View 3 sources
  1. 1.EKS-L221-SUS Luminary Kitchen ScaleEtekcity · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-02 22:06 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product specification and EKS-L221-SUS details (manufacturer page lines 191–212); display and charging feature descriptions (lines 256–263 and 280–316).: The US page identifies EKS-L221-SUS, UPC 810043375252, with 22 lb maximum capacity, 0.05 oz/1 g increments, a 300 mAh Li-ion battery and USB Type-C charging. It describes a large clear backlit screen, slanted LED display and a Hold function up to three minutes. Resolution is not a tested accuracy result.
  2. 2.Luminary Kitchen Scale User Manual (US; models EKS-L221-SUS and EKS-L221-BUSR)Etekcity · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-02 22:06 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Printed p. 4 (PDF physical p. 4): specifications; printed pp. 9–10 (PDF physical pp. 9–10): tare and unit conversion; printed p. 11 (PDF physical p. 11): Battery/charging, including the cannot-use-while-charging instruction.: The manual lists the EKS-L221-SUS among covered models, states 22 lb/10 kg capacity and 0.05 oz/1 g increments, explains container tare, and specifies USB Type-C charging of the 300 mAh Li-ion battery. It states the scale cannot be used while charging and warns not to exceed 22 lb. The documentation also says measurement use requires a hard, flat surface; these are manufacturer directions, not our test.
  3. 3.11 lb Stainless Steel Food Scale with Pull out DisplayOXO · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-02 22:06 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product title and details (lines 113–143).: OXO's US product page describes its 11 lb stainless steel food scale: the display pulls out to prevent bowl/plate shadowing and retracts for compact storage. It lists a zero function and unit conversion in 0.1 oz (US) and 1 g (metric) increments. The page does not specify this product's power source in the cited product details.