Skip to content

Marshall Emberton III vs Bose SoundLink Plus: Which One Should You Choose?

Bose's US SoundLink Plus page with Black selected documents a carrying loop, USB-C charge-out, and compatible Bose-speaker linking. Marshall lists Emberton III at 1.5 lb and documents a built-in microphone with call controls. Bose's own page gives conflicting size and weight figures, so this comparison does not claim Emberton III is lighter or smaller than SoundLink Plus. Choose by the documented call and connection features, Bose's carrying/linking workflow, and verify exact Bose dimensions if they matter.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-08

Source checked 2026-10-08 16:25 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

How should a buyer weigh Marshall's documented 1.5 lb weight, omitted Black/Silver strap, and hands-free call controls against Bose's carrying loop, USB-C charge-out, and speaker-linking workflow?

Emberton III has a manufacturer-listed weight and built-in microphone/call controls; SoundLink Plus documents a carrying loop, USB-C charge-out, and Bose-speaker linking. Bose's official page conflicts with itself on size and weight, so those measurements do not support a relative carry-weight or size verdict.

Quick verdict

When the recommendation changes
  • If exact dimensions or a direct mapping from the selected retail part 894040-0100 to Bose manual model 443516 is required, verify with Bose before purchase; the opened official sources do not provide that cross-reference and their size/weight fields conflict.

The differences that matter

Carry And Outdoor Fit

Marshall Emberton III Portable Speaker (Black and Silver)

1.5 lb; 6.3 × 2.7 × 3 in; IP67; strap not included with Black and Silver.[1]

Bose SoundLink Plus Portable Speaker (Black)

A carrying loop and IP67 are documented. Bose's own product page gives conflicting size and weight figures, so this comparison leaves both Bose measurements unresolved.[3]

What this changes: Marshall's listed weight may help a buyer with a known weight limit, while Bose documents a carrying loop. Because Bose's published weight and dimensions conflict across sections of its page, they do not support a pairwise size or weight ranking.[1, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Calls Controls And Connection Workflow

Marshall Emberton III Portable Speaker (Black and Silver)

Built-in speakerphone microphone; control knob manages media and calls; two active and up to eight remembered Bluetooth devices.[1, 2]

Bose SoundLink Plus Portable Speaker (Black)

US product page lists no microphone; manual documents two active and up to six saved Bluetooth devices, source switching, Bose-app control, and compatible Bose-speaker linking.[3, 4]

What this changes: The call microphone is a direct feature fit for callers; both permit two active Bluetooth connections, with documented differences in saved-device capacity and controls. Bose's listed linking and USB-C charge-out may matter to its intended workflow, but no unlisted Marshall status is treated as absence.[1, 2, 3, 4]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

A carry-focused buyer who needs a weight or size ranking between the two speakers

The better fit depends on your priorities

No pairwise mass or size ranking is supported: Marshall lists Emberton III at 1.5 lb and says the Black/Silver version does not include the fastening strap, while Bose documents a carrying loop but its official page conflicts on weight and dimensions. A buyer who requires a comparative weight or size answer should verify the Bose measurements before choosing.

A buyer who wants documented hands-free calls through the speaker

Best fit: Marshall Emberton III Portable Speaker (Black and Silver)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Marshall documents a microphone and speakerphone controls; Bose's US product comparison table lists no microphone.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

Any price difference should be weighed against the specific carrying, call, charge-out, or speaker-linking feature the buyer will use; the available snapshot histories do not support a buy-now or wait recommendation.

The snapshot histories are not aligned enough to judge whether either current offer is unusually low; there is not enough comparable history for a buy-now or wait call.

Limitations

  • No Pickoryx hands-on testing or independent matched testing was performed; no sound-quality, battery-life, loudness, connection-reliability, or real-world durability winner is established.
  • Bose's own US page gives conflicting size and weight figures: the comparison table lists 9.1 × 3.94 × 3.4 in and 3.29 lb, while Technical Specifications lists 11.169 × 4.114 × 3.402 in and 3.373 lb. The detailed figures resemble the listing's measurements, but that agreement does not resolve Bose's conflicting page fields; this comparison leaves Bose size and weight unranked.
  • For service or replacement-part matching, check the model label on the speaker: Bose's linked SoundLink Plus owner guide identifies model 443516.
  • The opened exact-pair comparison signal is a French-language 01net page. US search volume and US search demand remain unknown.
  • Snapshot pricing is dated 2026-10-07 and is not current-offer verification. The Marshall history begins 2026-10-05; the Bose history begins 2026-09-04, so the available histories are unequal and do not establish a comparable timing baseline.

Questions shoppers ask

Can I use either speaker for hands-free calls?

Marshall's manual says Emberton III's microphone enables speakerphone use and documents accepting, ending, or rejecting a call with its control knob. Bose's US product comparison table lists SoundLink Plus as having no microphone.

Can both speakers stay connected to two devices?

Yes. Their manuals each document two active device connections. Bose says only one device plays audio at a time and describes pausing one source before playing the other; Marshall says it remembers up to eight previously paired devices.

Is either one proven to sound better or last longer per charge?

No matched independent test was used here. Manufacturer battery claims use different evidence and conditions, and this comparison does not establish a runtime or sound-quality winner.

Methodology and sources

Compared Emberton III Black and Silver PID 1009773 with SoundLink Plus Black using each US manufacturer product page and linked English owner guide. Reopened the Bose Black page and followed its Owner's guide link on 2026-10-08; preserved the manual's internal model 443516 and the unbridged retail suffix 894040-0100. Bose's own page has conflicting size and weight fields, so neither Bose measurement is used for a relative carry verdict. Price-history language remains limited to the dated observations available for each selected product. Did not treat the French comparison page as US evidence or claim measured superiority.

Automation organized source notes and structured the comparison; the conclusions remain conditional on the cited official documentation and the unresolved model and dimension checks.

View 4 sources
  1. 1.Emberton III portable speaker in Black and SilverMarshall · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 15:06 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product title/PID and color (lines 15, 171-175); physical unit and IP67 (lines 94-113); strap caveat and included contents (lines 21-23, 136-140); microphone, controls and multipoint (lines 43-49, 80-92, 356-358).: US manufacturer page identifies the selected Emberton III PID 1009773 in Black and Silver, lists 1.5 lb and dimensions, IP67, microphone, control and multipoint features, and says the fastening strap is not included except for the Brown color.
  2. 2.Emberton III — Full Online Manual (English)Marshall · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 15:06 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Printed manual pages 4-5, device layout/calls and control knob; printed page 7, pairing a new device.: Official English manual linked from the selected US Emberton III page describes the speakerphone microphone, call/control-knob actions, USB-C input and dry-before-charging instruction, and two active/eight remembered Bluetooth devices.
  3. 3.Shop Bose SoundLink Plus Portable SpeakerBose · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 16:24 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Black selected, lines 96-104; technical specs and conflicting Bose comparison-table figures, lines 350-361 and 559-566; microphone, lines 365-368 and 527-529; linking and USB-C charge-out, lines 370-403; carrying loop/IP67 positioning, lines 441-471.: Bose US SoundLink Plus page with Black selected. It documents the family's carry loop, IP67, microphone absence, USB-C charge-out, and Bose-speaker linking. Its comparison table and Technical Specifications section conflict on size and weight; both fields are withheld. The page does not state part number 894040-0100.
  4. 4.SoundLink Plus Portable Speaker Owner's Guide (English)Bose · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 16:25 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Bose product page links the guide as its Owner's guide (product page lines 418-420); manual model/type designation 443516 (printed pages 4-5); saved/active Bluetooth devices and switching (printed pages 14-16); Bose-speaker linking (printed pages 29-32); carry loop/IP67 (printed page 35).: Official English SoundLink Plus owner guide directly linked from the selected-Black US Bose product page. It identifies the SoundLink Plus family and internal model 443516; it documents Bluetooth connection/switching and speaker linking. It does not state part number 894040-0100.