NOCO GENIUS1 vs Battery Tender 3 Amp: Which Setup Fits Your Battery?
Both chargers list modes for 6V lead-acid and 12V LiFePO4 batteries, but their instructions differ in detail. NOCO explicitly requires a BMS for its 12V lithium mode; the Battery Tender manual lists 12V LiFePO4 without stating a BMS condition. That omission does not establish incompatibility. The Battery Tender page and manual conflict on 6V lithium, so verify that case before use. The clearest practical difference is cord layout: GENIUS1 plugs directly into the outlet, while Power Tender uses separate AC and DC segments.
Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-22
Source checked 2026-10-22 14:27 UTC
Products compared

Product A · ASIN B07W46BX31
NOCO GENIUS1
Last observed offer
$29.87 List Price: $39.95
Per listed package.
Offer eligibility must be confirmed on Amazon.
Checked 2026-10-31 14:19 UTC. Price and availability may change.

Product B · ASIN B016S7NHWQ
Battery Tender Power Tender 3 Amp (022-0202-COS)
Last observed offer
$69.95
Per listed package.
Offer eligibility must be confirmed on Amazon.
Checked 2026-10-31 14:19 UTC. Price and availability may change.
Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.
The buying question
Which of these two chargers has a documented mode for my battery and a cord arrangement that suits the outlet-to-battery route?
Both models document 6V lead-acid and 12V LiFePO4 modes; verify the exact battery requirements rather than treating the BMS wording gap as incompatibility. The practical difference is a direct wall-plug layout versus separate AC, charger and DC segments. Published amp ratings are not a comparative charging-time test.
Quick verdict
Choose NOCO GENIUS1 if
- You want a charger that plugs directly into a nearby outlet, and the GENIUS1 cord arrangement fits your actual route.
Choose Battery Tender Power Tender 3 Amp (022-0202-COS) if
- A separate AC cord, charger body and DC lead better match where your outlet and battery are located.
When the recommendation changes
- The exact battery voltage, chemistry or BMS requirements call for a mode or condition not confirmed in the relevant charger instructions.
- The wall outlet and battery are positioned so one cord layout cannot be placed as the manufacturers instruct.
- Battery Tender clarifies whether its 6V LiFePO4 product-page statement applies despite its manual's 12V-only lithium instructions.
The differences that matter
Battery Voltage Chemistry And Charging Scope
What this changes: Match the charger mode to the battery maker’s voltage and chemistry instructions. Both manuals list a 6V lead-acid option and a 12V LiFePO4 mode. NOCO explicitly says its 12V lithium mode requires a BMS; the Battery Tender manual does not state a BMS condition, which is not evidence that it is incompatible with a BMS-equipped battery. For 6V LiFePO4, the Battery Tender product page and model manual conflict. Verify that case with the manufacturer rather than assuming support.[1, 3, 5, 4]
Outlet To Battery Placement
NOCO GENIUS1
GENIUS1 plugs directly into an AC outlet. NOCO specs list a 106-inch DC cable; its North American guide gives approximately 107.2 inches and recommends 12 inches of slack, so the published figures differ.[2, 3]
Battery Tender Power Tender 3 Amp (022-0202-COS)
The Power Tender product page lists a 6.1-ft AC cord, 0.7-ft charger, 5-ft DC output cord and 1.8-ft accessory segment.[4]
What this changes: The layout that works depends on where the outlet, charger body and battery sit. NOCO gives differently stated cable figures in its specs and guide, while Battery Tender lists separate segments; neither establishes a like-for-like usable-reach winner. Measure the actual route and follow each manual’s placement instructions.[2, 3, 4, 5]
Best for your routine
A 6V lead-acid battery with an outlet near the vehicle
The better fit depends on your priorities
Both manuals list a 6V lead-acid mode; choose by the cord layout and actual route rather than assuming one charges faster.
A 12V LiFePO4 battery
The better fit depends on your priorities
Both sources document a 12V LiFePO4 mode. NOCO explicitly states a BMS condition, while Battery Tender’s manual is silent on that condition; silence does not establish incompatibility. Check the battery maker’s instructions and ask Battery Tender if its condition is unclear, then choose by the cord layout.
Value and trade-offs
One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.
If one exact offer costs more, it should fit a verified battery mode or cord arrangement you actually need; amp ratings alone do not establish a faster charge in this pair.
There is not enough price history to recommend buying now or waiting; compare current offers for these exact models.
Limitations
- Battery Tender's product page describes 6V lithium support, but the linked North American model manual lists LiFePO4 as 12V only. Confirm directly with Battery Tender before relying on 6V LiFePO4 support.
- NOCO explicitly requires a BMS for its 12V lithium mode; the Battery Tender manual does not state whether it has the same condition. Check the battery maker’s requirements and confirm any unresolved compatibility question with the charger manufacturer.
- The cord lengths are reported as differently defined segments; no controlled route or charger-placement comparison was performed.
- The 1A and 3A ratings do not establish comparative charging time for a particular battery. No paired charging test was conducted.
- No usable price history is available for these exact offers, so timing is not assessed.
Questions shoppers ask
Does the Battery Tender Power Tender 3 Amp support 6V LiFePO4?
Its product page says yes, but the linked North American model manual lists LiFePO4 as 12V only. Treat 6V lithium support as unresolved and ask Battery Tender before using it with a 6V LiFePO4 battery.
Which charger has more usable cable reach?
NOCO specs list a 106-inch DC cable, while its North American guide says approximately 107.2 inches and recommends 12 inches of slack. Battery Tender lists separate AC, charger, DC-output and accessory segments. These are not like-for-like route measurements; measure your own setup and follow each manual’s placement guidance.
Methodology and sources
The charger mode charts and published cord layouts were compared for the two named models. No battery was charged for this comparison.
AI assisted research and drafting; the listed product claims were checked against manufacturer pages and manuals.
View 5 sources
- 1.GENIUS1 How ToNOCO · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 14:27 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Advanced Charging > 12V Lithium Mode and 6V Mode: The GENIUS1 mode guide lists 12V lithium (including LiFePO4) only for batteries with a BMS; its 6V mode is listed for wet-cell, gel, EFB, maintenance-free and calcium batteries.
- 2.GENIUS1 Tech SpecsNOCO · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 14:27 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Charging; Cable Management: The GENIUS1 is rated at 1A and lists 6V and 12V charging. NOCO specs list a 106-inch DC cable and no AC cable; the unit plugs directly into an AC outlet.
- 3.GENIUS1 User Guide & WarrantyNOCO · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 14:27 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Printed page 2, Mounting; printed page 4, Charging Modes: The North American guide describes GENIUS1 as a direct-wall-plug charger, gives approximately 107.2 inches for the DC cable and says to allow 12 inches of slack. This differs from the 106-inch figure in the tech specs. Its charge-mode chart lists 12V lithium with BMS and 6V lead-acid modes.
- 4.Power Tender 3 Amp 12V/6V Battery Charger and MaintainerBattery Tender · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 14:27 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- SKU 022-0202-COS; Reach; 6V Applications; 12V Applications: The product page identifies SKU 022-0202-COS and lists a segmented setup: 6.1-ft AC cord, 0.7-ft charger, 5-ft DC output cord, and 1.8-ft DC accessory. The page's 6V application text says lithium is supported, which conflicts with the linked manual's 12V-only lithium selector instructions.
- 5.Deltran 12V/6V Lithium/Lead 3A Selectable Manual (392-0320-RE)Battery Tender / Deltran · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 14:27 UTC
Evidence used on this page
- Model P/N 022-0202; CHARGER LOCATION section; printed pages 5–6, Battery Voltage Select Button and Battery Type Select Button: The North American manual names model P/N 022-0202. Its selector instructions list 12V AGM/Flooded, 12V LiFePO4 and 6V AGM/Flooded modes, specifying lithium as 12V only. Under Charger Location it says to place the charger as far from the battery as its DC cables permit and never directly above the battery.