Skip to content

Philips Norelco 2400 vs 1100: Which Routine Fits You?

Choose the X3001/90 for cordless wet/dry use and its documented pop-up trimmer, with charging as an added routine. Its manual requires a certified 5 V, at-least-1 A USB source, keeping the cable and source dry, and an IPX4 splash-proof source for charging in a moist environment; the shaver does not work while connected. Choose the S1016/90 if you want dry shaving while connected to its power cord and do not want a rechargeable battery. Philips does not establish a shaving-performance winner between them, and its S1016/90 materials do not settle the trimmer question.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-08 · Updated 2026-10-08

Source checked 2026-10-08 11:25 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

Do you want a cordless shaver for wet or dry use, or a dry-only shaver that operates from its power cord, and what charging or trimmer setup does each documented model require?

The X3001/90 offers cordless wet/dry use, a charging battery and a documented pop-up trimmer; the S1016/90 is corded-only and dry-only. The S1016/90 official materials do not establish whether it has an integrated pop-up trimmer, so do not assume it lacks one.

Quick verdict

Choose Philips Norelco Shaver 2400 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver X3001/90 if

  • You want cordless use and the option to shave with foam or gel or in the shower. Charging is separate: keep the USB cable and source dry, use a suitable certified 5 V, at-least-1 A source, and use an IPX4 splash-proof source if charging in a moist environment; the shaver cannot run while connected.
  • You want the documented pop-up trimmer for mustache or sideburn detailing.
When to skip: You require wet shaving while the shaver is connected to power; the S1016/90 is dry-only and the X3001/90 is cordless-only.
When the recommendation changes
  • If wet shaving, shower use, or cordless use is necessary, the X3001/90's documented feature set is the relevant fit; if you want a dry-only, cord-connected routine, the S1016/90 is the relevant fit.
  • If a pop-up trimmer is a deciding requirement, the X3001/90 explicitly includes one. Philips’s opened S1016/90 page and manual do not confirm an integrated trimmer, so verify that feature for the exact S1016/90 before choosing it on that basis. For the X3001/90, follow the manual’s charging conditions separately from wet shaving: keep the cable and source dry, use an IPX4 source if charging in a moist environment, and do not use the shaver while connected.

The differences that matter

Use And Power Routine

Philips Norelco Shaver 2400 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver X3001/90

Cordless use only; Philips identifies wet and dry shaving, including shower use.[3]

Philips Norelco Shaver 1100 Dry Electric Shaver S1016/90

Corded use only; the S1016/90 manual says to use it only in dry condition and not while bathing or in a shower.[1, 2]

What this changes: This is a concrete routine choice: cordless wet/dry use points to X3001/90, while a dry-only shave with the unit connected to its cord points to S1016/90. This is feature fit, not evidence of a closer, faster, gentler, or more comfortable shave.[3, 1, 2]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Charging And Trimmer Package Setup

Philips Norelco Shaver 2400 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver X3001/90

X3001/90 has a NiMH battery rated by Philips for 40 minutes of use after a one-hour charge, a pop-up trimmer, and USB charging. Its manual requires a suitable certified 5 V, at-least-1 A USB power source, says to keep the USB cable and power source dry, and says that when charging in a moist environment such as a bathroom, the source must be IPX4 splash-proof. The shaver does not work while connected to power. Philips directs buyers who need an adapter to support; the exact adapter-in-box status is not stated on the opened product page.[3, 4]

Philips Norelco Shaver 1100 Dry Electric Shaver S1016/90

S1016/90 is corded-only and has a detachable power cord in its manual's component diagram, so no battery charging routine is documented. Philips's S1016/90 product page and manual do not confirm an integrated trimmer; whether the exact model includes one remains unknown.[1, 2]

What this changes: Choose based on whether the rechargeable cordless setup and documented pop-up trimmer are useful enough to manage USB charging. For charging, use the manual-specified certified source, keep the cable and source dry, and use an IPX4 splash-proof source when charging in a moist environment; the shaver cannot operate while connected. S1016/90 avoids battery charging, but do not treat the lack of a trimmer mention in its official materials as proof that it has none; confirm that exact feature if needed. No full carton checklist is claimed.[3, 4, 1, 2]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

Dry shaving while connected to a power cord

Best fit: Philips Norelco Shaver 1100 Dry Electric Shaver S1016/90

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Philips documents corded-only operation for S1016/90; X3001/90 is cordless-only and will not work while connected to power.

What the evidence cannot decide

  • An explicitly documented pop-up trimmer: X3001/90 has a documented pop-up trimmer. The official materials checked do not resolve whether S1016/90 has one, so a buyer should verify that exact model before treating this as an exclusive advantage.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

Compare current offers against the documented shaving routine, charging requirements, and trimmer features that you will use.

Price history was not assessed, so there is not enough evidence for a buy-now or wait recommendation.

Limitations

  • Philips does not state in the opened S1016/90 product page or manual whether an integrated pop-up trimmer is included. This comparison does not say that it is absent.
  • The X3001/90 product page does not explicitly enumerate every retail-carton item, so exact wall-adapter inclusion remains unknown. Its manual requires a suitable certified USB power source, a dry cable and source, and an IPX4 splash-proof source for charging in a moist environment; this does not permit shaving while connected to power.
  • The research compares published features and instructions. No hands-on or controlled side-by-side shaving test was conducted, so shave closeness, speed, comfort, skin effects and durability are not ranked.

Questions shoppers ask

Can I use the S1016/90 in the shower or with shaving gel?

Philips identifies S1016/90 as a dry electric shaver, and its manual says to use it only in dry condition, not while bathing or in a shower. The manual separately instructs users to disconnect the cord before rinsing the shaver for cleaning.

Does the X3001/90 include a wall charger?

Philips documents USB charging and directs buyers who need an adapter to its support channel. The manual requires a certified 5 V, at-least-1 A USB power source, says to keep the cable and source dry, and requires an IPX4 splash-proof source for charging in a moist environment such as a bathroom. It also says the shaver does not work while connected to power. The product page does not explicitly state wall-adapter contents, so check the exact retail box if that matters.

Does the S1016/90 have a pop-up trimmer?

The official S1016/90 page and manual checked here do not confirm one. The X3001/90 page explicitly lists a pop-up trimmer. Verify S1016/90's exact feature if it matters to your purchase.

Methodology and sources

Kept the assigned exact US model numbers separate, checked the Philips product and support pages and model-applicable user manuals, and compared only documented use, power and setup features. Unknown S1016/90 trimmer status and X3001/90 wall-adapter inclusion remain explicitly unresolved; no performance winner is inferred.

An AI assistant organized published model specifications and manual instructions into a conditional feature-fit comparison. No hands-on or side-by-side shave test was performed.

View 4 sources
  1. 1.Philips Norelco Shaver 1000 Series Dry electric shaver S1016/90Philips · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 11:14 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product identity and feature overview: S1016/90 at lines 177-199; 27 blades and flex heads at 203-210; product and accessories description at 219-228.: Identifies exact US model S1016/90 as Philips Norelco Shaver 1100, describes it as corded use only, lists 27 self-sharpening ComfortCut blades and 4D Flex Heads, and lists a protective cap as the product page's accessory. The opened page does not state whether the model has a trimmer.
  2. 2.Philips Norelco S1016 User ManualPhilips North America LLC · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 11:14 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • English instructions, printed page 1 / PDF page 1: model S1016 at lines 319-325; dry-use prohibition at 11-19; parts diagram/list at 88-103; cleaning after unplugging at 169-200; replacement heads at 201-227.: The official manual identifies S1016, specifies dry-only use, says the appliance operates only with its cord, and instructs the user to unplug before rinsing for cleaning. Its component diagram/list names a protective cap, shaving unit, release button, switch, socket, cord and small plug; it does not confirm an integrated trimmer. The manual supports a detachable power-cord workflow, not a complete retail-carton checklist.
  3. 3.Philips Norelco Shaver 2400 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver X3001/90Philips · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 11:14 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Exact identity at lines 390-397; wet/dry at 432-435; pop-up trimmer at 452-455; charge/runtime/adaptor guidance at 462-480; technical specifications at 495-603.: Identifies exact model X3001/90 and documents cordless wet/dry use, a pop-up trimmer, a NiMH battery with one-hour charging and 40-minute runtime, and cordless-only operation. Philips says a suitable power adapter can be obtained through support if needed; the page does not enumerate complete retail-carton contents.
  4. 4.Philips Norelco S1000/X3000 Series User ManualPhilips North America LLC · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-08 11:25 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • English manual, first PDF page: model list includes X3001; certified 5 V, ≥1 A USB source, IPX4 (splash-proof) power source for charging in a moist environment (e.g. bathroom), and keep USB cable and power source dry at lines 50-60; cannot operate while connected at lines 67-69; USB source marked not included in charging steps at lines 217-224.: The Philips North America manual names X3001 among covered models and requires charging through a certified USB power source rated 5 V and at least 1 A. It says to keep the USB cable and power source dry and, for charging in a moist environment such as a bathroom, to use only an IPX4 splash-proof power source. It also says the shaver does not work while connected to power and says the USB power source is not included in its charging steps; that instruction does not settle exact retail-carton contents.