Skip to content

Verbatim Pocket SSD vs SSK SD500: Which 1TB Drive Fits Your Computer or Phone?

Choose by the cable and software workflow you need. Verbatim lists a short USB-C cable and Windows-only Nero Backup for model 32190. SSK lists two cable types and advertises an SD500 iPhone ProRes workflow; confirm the exact 1TB box and Apple’s device/storage conditions first. No controlled speed comparison was performed.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-16

Source checked 2026-10-16 19:16 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

Which drive better matches the cables and documented backup or phone-capture workflow the buyer actually needs?

Verbatim documents an exact 32190 package with a short USB-C cable and Windows-only Nero Backup; SSK lists USB-C and USB-A cable options and advertises an SD500 phone-capture workflow. Confirm the exact 1TB package and device requirements before relying on those features.

Quick verdict

Choose Verbatim Pocket SSD 1TB (32190) if

  • You use Windows and specifically want the included Nero Backup software.
  • The listed 5-inch USB-C-to-USB-C cable suits your host and setup.

Choose SSK SD500 Portable SSD 1TB if

  • You want to explore the SD500’s manufacturer-advertised direct iPhone ProRes workflow and have an eligible phone, after confirming the exact drive meets Apple’s external-storage conditions.
  • You need a USB-A-to-USB-C cable, after confirming that cable is included with the exact 1TB offer.
When to skip: Your host lacks a compatible USB connection, or you need a drive with a documented protection rating for the conditions where you will use it.
When the recommendation changes
  • The buyer uses macOS and expects bundled Nero Backup, because Verbatim limits that software to Windows.
  • For direct ProRes capture, confirm that the iPhone model, drive format, cable, sustained write capability and power draw meet Apple’s conditions. Neither drive was tested for this workflow.
  • The exact SSK purchase package does not include the cable the buyer needs.

The differences that matter

Host Connection And Included Cables

Verbatim Pocket SSD 1TB (32190)

The official 32190 1TB page lists a 5-inch USB-C-to-USB-C cable in the package.[1]

SSK SD500 Portable SSD 1TB

The official SD500 family page lists one USB-C-to-USB-C cable and one USB-A-to-USB-C cable, and lists 1TB as an available capacity. The exact 1TB package details still need checking.[2]

What this changes: A buyer with USB-C-only or USB-A hosts can compare the listed cable ends, but should confirm the SSK 1TB package before relying on the family-level inclusion list.[1, 2]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Platform Specific Backup And Capture Workflow

Verbatim Pocket SSD 1TB (32190)

Verbatim lists included Nero Backup software for Windows only and lists iPhone 15 and USB-C Android compatibility; its page does not specify external ProRes capture.[1]

SSK SD500 Portable SSD 1TB

SSK advertises 4K60 ProRes HDR capture for iPhone on the SD500 page; the page does not specify eligible iPhone models or verify the exact 1TB drive against Apple’s recording requirements.[2]

What this changes: The included Windows backup tool and the advertised mobile-capture workflow address different needs. Apple’s device and external-storage conditions matter before relying on the SSK workflow; the absence of a ProRes statement on Verbatim’s page is not proof it cannot work.[1, 2, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

Using the Verbatim package’s included Windows backup software is a requirement.

Best fit: Verbatim Pocket SSD 1TB (32190)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Verbatim explicitly lists Nero Backup and states that it is Windows-only. This is a fit with that documented need; it does not establish that SSK lacks backup software.

Direct ProRes recording to a portable drive is the intended workflow.

Best fit: SSK SD500 Portable SSD 1TB

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

SSK advertises this workflow for the SD500. Choose it only after confirming the specific iPhone, exact 1TB unit, cable and external-storage conditions; Verbatim’s general iPhone compatibility listing does not establish ProRes capture either way.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

No offer or price-history assessment was performed. A price premium would need to match a verified cable or software workflow the buyer will use; no price advantage is claimed.

Current offers and price history were not assessed; no timing recommendation.

Limitations

  • SSK’s SD500 page covers several capacities; the cable list is a model-family statement, not a check of the exact 1TB retailer package. Manufacturer maximum transfer rates do not establish sustained performance or a comparative speed winner.
  • SSK’s official SD500 page describes two cable types for the product family, but does not establish every box detail for the exact 1TB configuration. Confirm the cable you need is included with the exact offer.
  • SSK advertises direct iPhone ProRes capture, but Apple requires a supported Pro iPhone for external ProRes, an exFAT drive, a suitable USB 3 cable, minimum write capability and a power limit. The specific 1TB setup was not tested against those conditions.
  • Verbatim lists iPhone 15 and USB-C Android compatibility but does not state direct ProRes capture support. That is unknown, not evidence of incompatibility.
  • No hands-on or controlled transfer-speed, sustained-write, reliability or phone-compatibility tests were performed.
  • Prices and current offers were not assessed.

Questions shoppers ask

Will either drive work with a USB-A computer?

Verbatim’s exact 32190 page lists a 5-inch USB-C-to-USB-C cable. SSK’s SD500 page describes both USB-C-to-USB-C and USB-A-to-USB-C cables for the product family, but does not tie every package detail to the 1TB configuration. Check the exact box contents before buying; an adapter or separate cable may also solve a port mismatch.

Can I record 4K60 ProRes directly to the SSK SD500?

SSK advertises 4K60 ProRes HDR capture for SD500. Apple requires a supported Pro iPhone, an exFAT drive, at least 220 MB/s sustained writing for 4K60, no more than 4.5 W draw, and a USB 3 cable rated for at least 10 Gbit/s. Confirm that the exact phone, 1TB drive and cable meet those conditions; this comparison did not test either drive for recording.

Methodology and sources

Compared the Verbatim 32190 package and software description with the SSK SD500 cable and mobile-workflow statements, then checked Apple’s external ProRes requirements. No actual sustained-write, speed, reliability or recording test was performed.

AI assisted source review and drafting; exact product identities and material statements were checked against cited documentation. No hands-on test was conducted.

View 3 sources
  1. 1.Pocket SSD, USB 3.2 Gen 2, 1TB Black/GrayVerbatim Americas · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-16 19:16 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Model 32190 and 1TB selection; Key Features; Overview; Compatibility; Package Includes, lines 18–42, 47–64 and 70–79.: Exact 1TB model page identifies 32190, USB-C interface, listed 5-inch USB-C-to-USB-C cable and Nero Backup for Windows only; lists general compatibility for iPhone 15 and USB-C Android. Advertised maximum rates are not independent measurements.
  2. 2.Portable SSD External Solid State Drive-SD500-SSKSSK · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-16 19:16 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • SD500 model-family description and capacity options; cable list and iPhone capture statement, page lines 157–165 and 175–193.: The official SD500 family page lists 1TB among capacity options, USB-C-to-USB-C and USB-A-to-USB-C cables, and advertises direct iPhone ProRes HDR capture. These are manufacturer claims; they do not establish actual sustained performance, phone-specific recording compatibility or the precise retailer package.
  3. 3.About Apple ProRes on iPhoneApple Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-10-16 19:16 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Supported Pro models; external recording and 4K60 device/storage requirements; external storage format and USB 3 cable, lines 37–78 and 104–114.: Apple documents which iPhone Pro models can record ProRes directly to external USB-C storage and states the external recording conditions, including format, cable rate, minimum write capability and power ceiling. These are category-level prerequisites and do not verify either SSD.