Skip to content

Sony ULT WEAR vs JBL Live 770NC: Which Fits Your Listening Routine?

Choose by control routine first: ULT WEAR’s button cycles ULT1, ULT2, and OFF; JBL documents a Personi-Fi hearing-test profile created in its app. For charging planning, Sony says about 90 minutes of music playback after 3 minutes charging and about 5 hours after 10 minutes; JBL’s LIVE770NC quick-start guide shows 5 minutes / 4 hours. These manufacturer references do not establish which headphone charges faster or deliver a comparative playback-time result.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-16

Source checked 2026-10-16 01:57 UTC

Products compared

Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

The buying question

Would you rather use Sony’s physical ULT mode button or JBL’s Personi-Fi app profile, and which manufacturer’s stated short-charge reference better fits the charging windows you plan around?

Sony documents ULT1/ULT2/OFF selection and approximate music-playback estimates after 3- and 10-minute charges. JBL documents a Personi-Fi hearing-test profile and a quick-start charging graphic pairing 5 minutes with 4 hours. The charge references come from separate documents without matched test conditions, so they are planning references rather than a performance ranking.

Quick verdict

Choose Sony ULT WEAR (WH-ULT900N, Black WHULT900NB.UC) if

  • You want a physical button that cycles Sony’s documented ULT1, ULT2, and OFF modes.
  • Sony’s approximate 3- or 10-minute charging reference is useful to compare with your own charging breaks.

Choose JBL Live 770NC (Black, JBLLIVE770NCBLKAM) if

  • You want JBL’s documented Personi-Fi hearing-test profile workflow in its app.
  • You want to consult JBL’s 5-minute / 4-hour guide illustration when planning a short charging break.
When the recommendation changes
  • If you need a guaranteed playback duration under a particular noise-canceling or listening setup, neither guide establishes a matched test condition for comparing the two products.
  • If you prefer discrete on-headphone ULT modes over an app-created profile, or vice versa, use that control preference independently of the charging references.

The differences that matter

Bass Mode Controls Workflow

Sony ULT WEAR (WH-ULT900N, Black WHULT900NB.UC)

The ULT button cycles ULT1, ULT2, and OFF; Sony’s guide says the selected mode is retained after power-off.[1]

JBL Live 770NC (Black, JBLLIVE770NCBLKAM)

JBL describes Personi-Fi 2.0 as an app hearing test that creates a custom sound profile for later listening.[3]

What this changes: This is a choice between Sony’s documented physical mode-selection routine and JBL’s documented app-created profile routine. The distinction does not establish sound quality or imply that either product lacks other controls.[1, 3]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Manufacturer Stated Short Charge Planning

Sony ULT WEAR (WH-ULT900N, Black WHULT900NB.UC)

Sony’s ULT WEAR Help Guide says about 90 minutes of music playback is possible after 3 minutes charging and about 5 hours after 10 minutes charging. The guide separately notes available time varies with settings and use conditions.[1]

JBL Live 770NC (Black, JBLLIVE770NCBLKAM)

The JBL LIVE770NC Quick Start Guide charging illustration pairs 5 minutes with 4 hours; it does not state the playback or test conditions for that figure.[4]

What this changes: A buyer can consult the stated reference that matches a planned charging break, but the documents do not provide matched conditions for ranking the products or predicting an individual playback duration. Do not convert these figures into a charging-rate or runtime winner.[1, 4]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

A listener who wants discrete ULT modes from a physical headphone button

Best fit: Sony ULT WEAR (WH-ULT900N, Black WHULT900NB.UC)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Sony’s Help Guide documents the ULT button cycling ULT1, ULT2, and OFF. This recommends a control routine, not an audio result.

A listener who wants JBL’s documented hearing-test-based profile routine

Best fit: JBL Live 770NC (Black, JBLLIVE770NCBLKAM)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

JBL documents Personi-Fi 2.0 as an app hearing test that creates a custom profile for later listening.

A listener checking short-charge guidance against a planned charging break

The better fit depends on your priorities

Both manufacturers publish a short-charge reference, but in different formats and without matched test conditions. Check the stated guidance against your own needs rather than treating it as a comparative charge-speed or playback-time result.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

No current price or price history is included. If prices differ, weigh the documented sound-control routine and the charging reference you would actually use; no price premium is established here.

No price-history assessment is available, so this comparison does not make a buy-now or wait recommendation.

Limitations

  • The charge figures are not a matched comparison: Sony labels its estimates “about” and notes available time varies with settings and use conditions, while JBL’s quick-start illustration does not state playback or test conditions.
  • No comparative charge test or battery-life test was performed; no charging-speed, runtime, or guaranteed-playback winner is claimed.
  • No comparative sound-quality, bass-strength, comfort, ANC, or microphone testing was performed.
  • No current offer or price-history analysis was performed.

Questions shoppers ask

Can I compare Sony’s and JBL’s short-charge figures as a direct test?

No. Sony says about 90 minutes of music playback after 3 minutes charging and about 5 hours after 10 minutes; its guide notes that actual available time varies with settings and use. JBL’s quick-start guide shows 5 minutes / 4 hours but does not state playback or test conditions. Treat each as its manufacturer’s reference, not a matched charge-rate or runtime test.

How do their sound controls differ?

Sony’s ULT button cycles ULT1, ULT2, and OFF. JBL describes Personi-Fi 2.0 as an app hearing test that creates a custom profile. These are different documented routines, not evidence that one sounds better.

Does JBL’s 5-minute / 4-hour illustration guarantee that much playback?

The quick-start guide displays those figures in its charging illustration but does not state usage or test conditions there. Use it as a manufacturer-published reference, not a guarantee for a particular listening setup.

Methodology and sources

Compared the documented Sony ULT button sequence with JBL’s Personi-Fi app profile routine, then recorded each manufacturer’s short-charge guidance in its own terms. Sony’s estimates are approximate and its guide notes settings/use affect available time; JBL’s charging graphic gives no conditions. No charge rate, matched playback result, or sound-quality winner was calculated.

AI assistance was used to organize the research and draft the comparison; the cited manufacturer documents were checked for each claim. No headphones were physically tested.

View 4 sources
  1. 1.ULT WEAR Wireless Noise Canceling Stereo Headset Help GuideSony · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-16 01:57 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Printed p. 24, “Available operating time”: Sony states about 90 minutes of music playback after 3 minutes charging and about 5 hours after 10 minutes; printed pp. 86–87, ULT button operation.: The ULT WEAR Help Guide identifies the family and documents ULT1/ULT2/OFF selection. It also gives approximate music-playback estimates after 3- and 10-minute charges and cautions that available time varies with settings and use conditions.
  2. 2.Support for WH-ULT900N | Sony USASony USA · Official support · Source checked 2026-10-02 06:53 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product heading WH-ULT900N / ULT WEAR and linked Help Guide: Sony's US support page maps model WH-ULT900N to ULT WEAR and lists the matching help guide; the Amazon snapshot identifies the black US WHULT900NB.UC retail variant.
  3. 3.JBL Live 770NC | Wireless Over-Ear Headphones with True Adaptive Noise CancellingJBL · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-02 06:53 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Black product selector / Item# JBLLIVE770NCBLK; JBL Headphones app and Personi-Fi 2.0 descriptions.: The official black product page identifies item JBLLIVE770NCBLK and describes JBL Headphones app sound personalization and Personi-Fi 2.0’s hearing-test profile. This source is used for the selected Live 770NC identity and control workflow only.
  4. 4.JBL LIVE 770NC Quick Start GuideJBL / HARMAN · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-16 01:57 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Printed p. 12, “CHARGING” illustration displays 5 MIN / 4 H; printed p. 15, “TECH SPEC,” identifies model LIVE770NC. The guide does not state playback or test conditions alongside the charging illustration.: The JBL manufacturer guide identifies LIVE770NC and depicts a short-charge reference of 5 minutes / 4 hours. It is presented only as the guide’s own charging reference, not a measured or guaranteed result.